NaSoWriMo 2015

I’ve done NaNoWriMo twice and Camp NaNo once, and won all three times with novels. But this year, novels just aren’t working for me. I’m not sure why. Maybe it’s just that I don’t have inspiration or I don’t have the energy for a novel what with school, exams, and life in general. I won’t say – not yet at least – that it’s because I’m not cut out to be an author. But there is that feeling in the back of my mind. 

I’ve been trying for three to five years now to be a serious writer but it’s been on and off. I keep losing interest, inspiration, and motivation. And while I do enjoy it, I don’t know if I absolutely love it. I don’t know if I absolutely need to write. 

So I’m taking an extended break – again – from novel writing and I’m not sure when I’ll resume. Maybe never? But the temptation of NaNoWriMo is great. I thrive under pressure and under deadlines, and I love looking at that NaNo graph, watching the bars get higher and higher. It’s the perfect opportunity to force me to be productive. 

So I’m settling on being a rebel and doing National Songwriting Month (NaSoWriMo – I’m really happy with that acronym!). Songwriting is a medium of words that I’ve had considerable more success and enjoyment with, so I’m going to attempt a song a day. It won’t be easy, but I’m uber excited. 

And sometime in the future, I’m also keen to try Script Frenzy, which is basically writing 100 pages of a script in a month. Dialogue has always been my favourite part about novel writing and I recently completed a 10 page stage script that I’m quite proud of and had a good time writing, so I think that might also work for me. So if the songwriting thing doesn’t work out, that’s my plan B. 

Oh, and if anyone wants to add me on Nanowrimo, feel free! Or should I rephrase that … I’ve got no writing buddies and I can be a pretty cool person sometimes (I think). I’m downtownsong on there. 

